Journal : Debilitating Religious Myths : Part II – Nirvana, Day Of Judgment & Son Of God

Myths are stories of invention, imaginary or fictitious, without a determinable basis of fact or natural rationale. But, in practice, some that are held in belief by gullible spiritual aspirants lead to severe debilitating consequences, regardless of the degrees of literacy or educational pedigree of the adherent. They remain in use to ‘ rationalise ‘ inferior customs in social institutions, some of which are stark and abominable. and for holding and propagating popular memes that promote regressive values and drive people to subhuman conduct. 

Here are a few myths of ignorance that I have found tellingly dark and macabre in their effects …

Nirvana : So often it is associated with emptiness void or shunya

And what about the witness, the person witnessing the void ?

Is he there or not ?

Who is viewing the emptiness and pronouncing that it is ?

My suggestions are exactly along the lines stated above, in respect of Maya.

[  https://vamadevananda.wordpress.com/2012/10/23/journal-debilitating-religious-myths-part-i-maya/ ]

Enough said. 

The Day Of Judgment.  Son Of God.  I don’t understand either. 

Faiz Ahmed Faiz, the Urdu poet, uses the metaphor for the revolution he imagines in his riveting verse that starts with, ” Hum dekhengei …” Which translates as : ” We will live to see …”

It projects the image of all self-serving and oppressive autocrats being flung off their high seats, on the day of judgment, and being stripped of their crowns … when common men shall arise and will conferred their shared privilege in common with humanity. 

But a ” Day ” for real, at judgment in the court of a big daddy in the sky ? !

Where’s the evidence ? What is really there, in its detail, in the context of this myth ?

Is it the corpse we bury who would come erect, as religionists believe ?

If so, what happens to those who get eaten by the fish ?

Or, to those who get vapourised and reduced to ashes in a fire outbreak or when cremated ? Who presides over the affair and where is he is now ? 

To me, the day of judgment is forever upon us, to and by us, in our conscience. And, that is a universal matter, not a religious one, obvious and inevitable with anyone who dares and cares to think and introspect. As we all do, more or less. The effect was a clear and prominent phenomena in my own everyday life The religion I grew up in was without a Sunday school, pastoral sermon or confessional. It was in my father’s recital of the dharma texts and epics … the voice now fervent, happy, choked or even … suggesting the moral and ethical dimension that I gathered and later cut in on my attitude, conduct and goals of lifetime. 

The Son Of God thing is patently ludicrous and insulting to others who, by implication, are not son enough of the same God. The god I have known is the one who keeps my conscience and I, his son, am true when I live by its call and am not when I do not heed it. That god who holds my truth for me, is my own higher self. And his son, me, is the one who avails the liberty of abiding with it or straying away on prompts of desire or curiosity I chose or that moved me into the doing. 

But I suppose I am describing the ways of every other human being on the planet, with different particulars. And that’s how our religions should be, methinks … universal and particular.

Leave a Reply

