Communion

COMMUNION

One spring morning my dreams come true

The sun hid and sought

Breeze was gutsy n cool

Birds chirped

Hopped with cheer

And flew low

About children gaming in the street below

Playing as if extending the overnight score.

 

I savour the turn rare

Of oneness strange

Conspicuous, scarce

In that gray light

And blessed morning air…

Watching, I felt

I was the ball

The palm on it, the lad

And the woman across

With clothes on line

And the house eyeing sharp

The peers in time

And even the fields

In the distance

Waving back with smile

All swaying, all formed

Of the tune same

Without art

Neat, emerged and so stark

Palpable… one

Suffused within

Without another

Spread in me.

I stood startled

Without my wits

Just a heart swelled

Next to the one beating…

To gather myself

I sank in a chair

Recalled my name

The identity in pair

And withdraw safe

From overwhelming surfeit.

For a while next

I curl up in bed

Chewing the feel

Of throwing myself

On the rocks below

Down the gorge deep

Where the river roared

In gurgling abyss…

*   *   *



It occurred in a flash

When I raised myself

That I was cured forever

Of little consciousness

Which caused the heat

Woke the fevers in me…

I glide out to a walk

 Bouncing on steps

Side step the cock

And catch the path

By the tail on its hind

To wherever it led

Feet rise and fall

And I am lovely lost

In the wilderness around

When the bend up high

Appears against the sky

Shows an old man squat

On a stone slightly warmed

Of the sun’s tilted rays

Adding to the grey

In the spectacled face

Radiating naïve charm

He lit up in greeting

Puffing on the stick

Eying the hilltops yonder

Waving hairs in the breeze

In quiet spiritual union

With being converged

In the cool gray and sun

Letting life be merged

Sensing the space inner

Poised valley in space

For a moment too long

In communion, I wait…

Until he gave a heave

And stood up to leave

For the climb onward

On slow bounds steady

With a drive just right

Grace ample, fluid…

We talk some but just

And note our transparence

Sights pure ‘thout thought

Feel the beauty and joy

In mind open, accessed

Being one, the same

Involved luminous

In forms different

And each recess

The same, the same

In all creatures

In every thing

With diverse features.

*    *    *

I did then allow in

The banished hopes

The desperations true

Their real impress…

Let the body lead

Unbound the mind free

Empowered fullness complete

In health, light and spree.

*    *    *          *    *    *

Leave a Reply

